Skip to main content

Power Standards & Proficiency Scales

Below is a link to the power standards and proficiency scales that have been developed in CCSD2. 

Power Standards

Teachers in the district teach to all Wyoming Content and Performance Standards, but power standards (also known as priority standards) are tracked closely using multiple data points, to inform instruction and highlight essential skills and knowledge.  Power standards are determined with help from WDE Blueprints, as well as teacher knowledge and experience.  

Power standard examples:

  • Common power standard: ELA W.4.9: Draw evidence from literary or informational texts to support analysis, reflection, and research.
  • Uncommon power standard: ELA SL.4.5: Add audio recordings and visual displays to presentations when appropriate to enhave the development of main ideas or themes.

Proficiency Scales

Proficiency scales are used to collect data points for tracking student performance with power standards.  Scores on a proficiency scale range from 0 (no attempt made) to 4 (advanced proficiency with a standard).  A score of 3 is considered “proficient” with a standard, meaning that a student understands the knowledge or skill of that standard.  Proficiency scales are tiered to inform instruction and help students increase their skills and abilities with a particiular standard.  For more specific examples, please view a proficiency scale included in one of the links below.

View CCSD2 Power Standards & Proficiency Scales in Google Docs.



Director of Curriculum
Noel Manning, M.A.Ed.

Contact information: